24.3 C
Sunday, June 23, 2024

APC Sweeps All Chairmanship, Councillorship Seats in Kano

APC Sweeps All Chairmanship, Councillorship Seats in Kano

The local government election in Kano State on Saturday was fully won by the  All Progressives Congress (APC) which swept all the 44 local government chairmanship and 484 Councillorship seats in the state.

A total of votes of 2, 350, 577 were cast, according to the chairman, Kano State Independent Electoral Commission (KANSIEC), Garba Ibrahim Sheka, while announcing the results of the elections in Kano on Sunday.

Sheka acknowledged that minor errors were encountered during the election process, but the commission was able to conduct the election successfully.

Sheka had earlier lamented the rowdy and chaotic nature of elections in Kano State, saying it is a source of worry to stakeholders in the state’s politics.

Meanwhile, to resolve the disputes that may arrive from the local government election, the Chief Judge of Kano State, Justice Nura Sagir Umar has constituted two local government election tribunals.

The spokesman of the judiciary in the state, Baba Jibo Ibrahim, said the tribunals will be chaired by Chief Magistrates Hauwa Lawan Umar and Muhammad M. Jibrin.


Share your thoughts on the story APC Sweeps All Chairmanship, Councillorship Seats in Kano with Nigerian Sketch in the comments section below.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles