21.6 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024

NJC Sets Up Committee to Probe Judges for Granting Reckless Ex-Parte Orders

NJC Sets Up Committee to Probe Judges for Granting Reckless Ex-Parte Orders

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has directed the three judges of coordinate jurisdiction who granted ex-parte orders over the same the case with the same subject matter to appear before a special investigation committee set up by the council to show cause why disciplinary action should not be taken against them.

The NJC, which gave the directive at the end of its 95th meeting on Friday, also resolved to set up a medical board to ascertain the health status of Justice Amina Yaroson of Kaduna State Customary Court of Appeal.

A statement by the director of information of the NJC, Soji Oye, said the council also issued a warning letter to Justice Sobere Biambo of High Court of Rivers State for descending into the arena of conflict in a matrimonial suit number OHC/IMC/2018.

According to the statement, council at its plenary also considered the reports of the two preliminary complaints Assessment Committees (PCAC) on the petitions written against 18 judicial officers and on the recommendation of the committee, issued a letter of advice to Justice Elias Abua of Cross River State High Court to in future be wary of granting an order staying the execution of judgment which appeared executory in nature as the one he granted in suit number HC/MSC/67/2019.

Council however, dismissed the petitions written against Justices I. E. Ekwu and Ayo-Emmanuel of the Federal High Court, Justices O. O. Ogunjobi, S. B. A. Candide-Johnson and S. A. Onigbanjo of High Court of Lagos State, Justices Chiwendu Nwogu, S. C. Amadi and A. U. Kingsley Chuku, for either lacking in merit, subjudice or statute barred.

Other petition dismissed for the same reasons were those written against Justice I. K. Banu, Chief Judge of Adamawa, Justice A. L. Lagre, President, Customary Court of Appeal, Adamawa, Justice Felibus B. Andetur, Chief Judge, Taraba State, Justice Sunday Olorundahunsi of Ondo State, High Court, Justice Nse Emeka Daniel of Akwa-Ibom State High Court and Justice H. T. D. Gwadah of Kaduna State High Court.


Share your thoughts on the story with Nigerian Sketch in the comments section below.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles