28 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

PDP Clinches Kaduna House of Assembly Bye-Election

PDP Clinches Kaduna House of Assembly Bye-Election

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP’s) Usman Baba has been declared winner of the bye-election for Sabon Gari constituency in the Kaduna State House of Assembly.

The bye-election was necessitated by the absence of the lawmaker representing the constituency, Aminu Shagali, from his legislative duties for more than 360 days, causing the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to declare the seat vacant in April.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Dr Mohammed-Nuruddin Musa, declared the result on Saturday in Zaria.

He said Baba won the election with 9, 113 votes to defeat All Progressives Congress (APC’s) Musa Musa who got 7, 404 votes.

ADC’s Anas Abdullahi ADC got 62 votes; ADP’s Chindo Ibrahim got 61 votes while PRP’s Musa Halilu got 305 votes.

Kaduna State is presently predominantly controlled by the APC, and the state legislature reflects this dominance with a huge APC majority.

In 2019, APC won 22 of the 31 seats in the Kaduna State House of Assembly, leaving the remaining nine seats for PDP.

The APC won in Kudan, Soba, Maigana, Giwa West, Giwa East, Makarfi, Kubau, Ikara, Kauru, Magajin Gari, Kagarko, Doka Gabasawa and Kawo.

The ruling party also won Makera, Tudun Wada, Ungwar Sanusi, Igabi East, Igabi West, Zaria City, Zaria, Basawa and Sabon Gari constituencies.

The PDP won in Kaura, Jaba, Kachia, Kajuru, Chikun, Zonkwa, Zango Kataf, Jema’a and Sanga.


Share your thoughts on the story PDP Clinches Kaduna House of Assembly Bye-Election with Nigerian Sketch in the comments section below.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles