28 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Service Chiefs Finally Resign, as Buhari Names Replacements

Service Chiefs Finally Resign, as Buhari Names Replacements

After persistent calls for their removal, Nigeria’s security service chiefs have finally tendered their resignations, to which President Muhammadu Buhari has accented.

Buhari accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, signalling their retirement from service, according to a statement issued by his special adviser to on media and publicity, Femi Adesina in Abuja on Tuesday.

The statement said: “Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

“The new Service Chiefs are Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A. Z. Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”


Share your thoughts on the story Service Chiefs Finally Resign, as Buhari Names Replacements with Nigerian Sketch in the comments section below.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles