35.8 C
Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Two new things about Tinubu’s ministerial list

Two new things about Tinubu’s ministerial list

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu sent an additional 19 ministerial nominees to the Nigerian National Assembly on Wednesday, and this has shown that he was going to depart from the usual 42-man federal cabinet to embrace 47 ministers.

Apart from that, for the first time, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT Abuja) has a nominee in person of Hon Zaphania Bitrus Jisalo.

Jisalo is former executive Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC) and two-term member of the House of Representatives for AMAC/Bwari Federal Constituency.

President Tinubu, had Thursday last week, forwarded 28 ministerial nominees to the Senate as first batch for screening and confirmation by the Senate, and added 19 nominees to them through correspondence delivered to Senate in plenary by his Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila.

The fresh 19 ministerial nominees are Abdullahi Tijjani Gwarzo from Kano state, Dr Bosun Tijani from Ogun state, Dr Maryam Shetty from Borno state, Isiaka Salako and Tunji Alausa (Lagos state).

Others are Dr Yusuf Tanko Sununu (from Kebbi state), Adegboyega Oyetola (from Osun state), former Kebbi state Governor Atiku Bagudu, Zamfara state Governor Bello Matawalle, former Yobe state Governor Ibrahim Geidam, former Plateau state Governor  Simon Lalong, Lola Ade John and Shuaibu Abubakar Audu (from Kogi state).

Also on the list are Prof Tahir Mamman (Adamawa state), Senator Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger state ), Senator Alkali Ahmed Saidu (Gombe state), Senator Heineken Lokpobori (Bayelsa state), Uba Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba state )  and Zaphaniah Bitrus Jisalo (FCT).

From the new list, five former governors are among nominees which, when added to the four in the first list, makes it nine.

In the category of former Senators, while the first list of 28 has two, the fresh list of 19 has three totaling five.

Meanwhile, the Senate, after conclusion of screening of the first 28 nominees forwarded to it, adjourned to Friday this week for commencement of screening of the fresh 19 nominees.

According to the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, “Thursday this week is set aside for the new nominees to file in their required documents for screening which would start on Friday.


Share your thoughts on the story Two new things about Tinubu’s ministerial list with NigerianSketch in the comments section below.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles